Industry and Company Information
Finding Industry Sources and Business News
If you want to find information on a company or organization for general research or for your case studies there are several types of resources you can use:
- Newspapers - to find news stories about businesses and ethics
- Scholarly sources - to find journal articles written about ethical problems or business theories
- See ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete below
- Industry sources - these are sources that might report on legal issues with a business (such as an incident causing a lawsuit or government fines or prosecution), or special ethical issues in a specific industry or category of business
- See Gale (Business Insights), Mergent Online, and Value Line below
- Legal or government sources - if you want to know further how certain laws or regulations work, or want to explore discussions about laws related to business
- Some examples:
- Internal Revenue Service for Tax Regulations and Guides
- California Secretary of State for information on legal structures of businesses (Corporations, LLCs, etc) in California
- California Franchise Tax Board for information on California Business Taxes
- Small Business Administration for information on how to set up, manage, or grow small businesses
- Background sources - Finding more information that will give context to your case study
- See Statista Below and Consumer information on the next page
- Studies or Scholarly information on the psychology or sociology of business topics - for info on approaching business organizations issues from the question of human psychology
- See JSTOR or EBSCO Psych Articles databases below
-
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
-
Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and chronologies. You can also search industry descriptions and for topics in over 4,000 business, economics and technology journals. -
Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
-
Mergent Online / Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowMarket Atlas is the new, updated platform that will replace Mergent Online. The former Mergent interface is available here until July 2025: http://menlocollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.mergentonline.com/basicsearch.php
Provides access to a wide range of financial and business information, including U.S. and international company data, industry reports, global company financials, executive profiles, equity research reports, records from private companies, annual reports, risk ratings and information, ESG ratings, and global equity pricing data. Offers the ability to build custom financial reports. -
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
[Note: Canceled 2025, subscription expires 7/31/2025]
The PrivCo database presents business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 500,000 companies, providing information on finances, M&A and funding activity, ownership structure, and more. PrivCo also has data on more than 18,000 investors.
Click the green "Direct Access" button to access PrivCo without making an account. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: JSTOR subscription will expand to the Full Access Model in January 2026
A full-text collection of more than 400 journals in business and the liberal arts, with especially strong coverage of business, finance, economics, history, regional studies, education, and sociology. (Our subscription includes the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, Business I, and Business II collections.) JSTOR is notable for the high quality of the journals it includes. The most recent three to five years of each journal are usually excluded from JSTOR, however.
-
PsycArticles (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles searches "over 50 top full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more." The database includes all material from the American Psychological Association (APA) print journals and affiliated publications with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.
-
ValueLine Investment Survey Reports This link opens in a new window
[Note: Canceled 2025, subscription expires 12/31/2025]
Provides the ability to search by Company Name, Stock Ticker or Industry for the most recent reports, analyst commentaries and rankings on the 1,700 stocks covered by the Value Line Investment Survey.
