Best Resources for this Course
Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Find Journal Articles about your topic:
-
Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Note: Our subscription will be changing from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Elite January 2026
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present
-
Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and chronologies. You can also search industry descriptions and for topics in over 4,000 business, economics and technology journals. -
Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: JSTOR subscription will expand to the Full Access Model in January 2026
A full-text collection of more than 400 journals in business and the liberal arts, with especially strong coverage of business, finance, economics, history, regional studies, education, and sociology. (Our subscription includes the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, Business I, and Business II collections.) JSTOR is notable for the high quality of the journals it includes. The most recent three to five years of each journal are usually excluded from JSTOR, however.
Finding Books and Ebooks
Bowman Library has a large variety of books and ebooks that are chosen for their relevance to the courses offered. You can access ebooks directly from the library website whether your off or on campus. Books and ebooks are good for finding overviews and history of your topic. You don't need to read the whole book to get the information you need for your project; often one chapter of a scholarly book will cover the information you need.
Find books by using these search subjects:
Figuring out the subject headings related to the areas of information you need will help you zero in on the resources that will be the most helpful. For this final project try some of the following subject terms to locate books and/or articles in support of your topic.
Remember: Searching the catalog doesn't find everything we have! Check out the other tabs above to search for more specific types of information.
Statistics & Online Resources
-
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
[Note: Canceled 2025, subscription expires 10/31/2025]
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. PQDT Global consists of PhD and Masters dissertations and theses - over 3 million theses abstracts, with approximately half in full text. Subject coverage includes business and economics, social sciences, technology, arts, and humanities.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly literature "across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." Note that many articles contain only the citation and no full text; if full text is not available, you can order articles or books via Interlibrary Loan.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
Find articles in a variety of newspapers and online publications about the topic of Diversity and Inclusion in the workplace. If you are developing a diversity statement for a real company, researching newspapers based in the city or state in which your company is headquartered is a way of tracking whether or how that company is reported on in the news.
TIP: Search within a particular publication by conducting a SITE: search in Google. Type site: plus the url of any publication leaving no spaces between characters, then leave a space and add keywords to conduct your search.
Here's an example of this type of search - site:nytimes.com diversity inclusion goldman sachs
Below are a few possible online magazines and newspapers that will provide news and information about diversity policies in the workplace.
New York Times
After activating your subscription from one of the links below, log on to the New York Times site directly using your Menlo e-mail and password. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login.
-
-
Note: The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
-
