Find Information at Bowman
Searching the catalog doesn't find everything we have! Check out the tabs in the box below to search for more specific types of information.
Best Resources for this Course
Finding Journal Articles
Your assignment may require you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields, usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists
Find Journal Articles about your topic:
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present - Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and chronologies. You can also search industry descriptions and for topics in over 4,000 business, economics and technology journals. - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text reference books in 20 subject areas. It includes over 180 titles and 65,000 images "powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context." coverage: Varies
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly literature "across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." Note that many articles contain only the citation and no full text; if full text is not available, you can order articles or books via Interlibrary Loan.
- Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1,400 journals featuring key research across 14 Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas. Subjects available in Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library include Education, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, etc.
Finding Books and eBooks
Bowman Library has a large variety of books and ebooks that are chosen for their relevance to the courses offered. You can access ebooks directly from the library website whether your off or on campus. Books and ebooks are good for finding overviews and history of your topic. You don't need to read the whole book to get the information you need for your project; often one chapter of a scholarly book will cover the information you need.
Find books by using these search subjects:
Statistics & Online Resources
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowActivate your subscription from one of the links below depending on your location at the time of activation. After creating your account, log on to the New York Times site from any location or device using your Menlo e-mail and the password you have set up. Enjoy the subscription as long as you are affiliated with Menlo.
- New York Times One-Time Activation from Off Campus This link opens in a new window
- New York Times One-Time Activation from On Campus This link opens in a new window
- Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Links to Websites from your Syllabus:
Harvard Business Review (HBR)
Another place to search for needed information is simply to 'Google it.' Think about the results you are find: Who is the author or sponsor, why is the information being published? Is there obvious bias? How authoritative is the source you find?
Google gives you so many results it is difficult to know which ones are useful or reliable. Articles rise to the top of a search based on the number of times they are clicked on; this might not be the best way to choose what will be most important for your search.
However, Google allows several ways for you to target your results. Try out the techniques below to leverage the power of Google to help you find important results for your project or paper.
Get the most out of your Google search -- SITE Searching
One way to target results in Google is to employ the site search. Use a specific phrase before adding search terms to tell Google you only want results from the website or domain you've inserted. The search always begins with site + colon + URL or Domain - all without any spaces; next, add a space and typed in your search terms. See examples below -
- site:nytimes.com 'work-life balance' AND start-ups This search phrase tells Google to only get results from the New York Times website that mention work-life balance and start-ups in articles. You can use the Tools link to limit the date range. Here the search has been limited to 2018-2022. **Using a site search is one of the best ways to find topic-specific articles in the New York Times**
- site:gov 'workplace safety' AND training This search phrase tells Google you'd like to see articles, reports, etc., from government websites concerned with misinformation about vaccines and social media. Because we want Google to search social media as a phrase, it's important to put the two words in quotes. [This search is limited to the period 2019-2022]
- site:edu workplace AND 'sexual harassment' This search phrase tells Google to retrieve articles published by or in educational institutions that explore the topic of sexual harassment and the workplace. [Note: Results are limited to 2015-2022]
Other search tips in Google
- Limit the date of your results -
- Insert the phrase after + colon + year or date without any spaces
- after:2019 workplace policies COVID-19 This phrase tells Google that you'd like all your results to have been published after 2019 (note: the after + colon + date phrase can come before or after your search terms)
- Or - limit results to a given date range by clicking on Tools under the search bar, then Any Time under that - select from the dropdown menu or enter a specific date range
- Insert the phrase after + colon + year or date without any spaces
- Search for an exact phrase by putting a phrase in quotes when entering it in the search bar, e.g., "organizational behavior" or "cultural humility" -- using the quotes will ensure you retrieve results with that exact phrase.
