Searching the catalog doesn't find everything we have! Check out the tabs below to uncover more information.
Best Resources for this Course
Find Information about Companies & the Industries in which they operate:
Many of the following databases will provide detailed company reports, industry overviews, market share reports, information about trends within a targeted industry, and articles from business & finance related journals, magazines, & newspapers.
- Start by determining the Industrial sector into which your company or venture will fall.
- Look up the product in the NAICS look up below, or
- Search for a competitor's company report & find the codes it lists in the report
- NAICSThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and chronologies. You can also search industry descriptions and for topics in over 4,000 business, economics and technology journals. - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Mergent Online / Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowMarket Atlas is the new, updated platform that will replace Mergent Online. The former Mergent interface is available here until July 2025: http://menlocollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.mergentonline.com/basicsearch.php
Provides access to a wide range of financial and business information, including U.S. and international company data, industry reports, global company financials, executive profiles, equity research reports, records from private companies, annual reports, risk ratings and information, ESG ratings, and global equity pricing data. Offers the ability to build custom financial reports. - PrivCo This link opens in a new windowThe PrivCo database presents business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 750,000 companies, providing information on finances, M&A, and funding activity, ownership structure, and more. PrivCo also has data on more than 18,000 investors.
**Click the green DIRECT ACCESS button to open Menlo's subscription; no need to make an account. - ValueLine Investment Survey Reports This link opens in a new windowProvides the ability to search by Company Name, Stock Ticker or Industry for the most recent reports, analyst commentaries and rankings on the 1,700 stocks covered by the Value Line Investment Survey.
Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Find Journal Articles about your topic:
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles on business and industry, including MarketLine Industry profiles, trade publication articles, as well as scholarly articles.
- EBSCOhost (includes several component databases) This link opens in a new windowOur largest collection of articles; contains a wide variety of information on businesses, industry, and consumer trends. Searches both scholarly and popular sources, including newspapers, trade publications, etc.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch Google Scholar for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc. Keep in mind that not all content will be in full-text.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of online books great for background information and definitions. The database contains a variety of business dictionaries in which to look up specialized terminology. - Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
- Census ReporterCensus Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey easier to use.
- Data.Census.Gov -- U.S. Census BureauThis site is a product of the U.S. Census Bureau. Through its search bar, you can locate information about consumers, places, industries, etc. From the main search bar, enter the city name, county name or zip code you wish to explore.
Be sure to create your own account for each of these two publications - They will help you with almost every class you take at Menlo:
- Financial Times
The Financial Times covers a variety of topics, including management, business, the legal industry, politics, climate change, and economics, all from a global perspective.
- Financial Times One-Time Activation
Create an account using your Menlo email address at this link. You will be asked to verify your account through your Menlo email. Now you can access the Financial Times!
- New York Times (NYTimes.com)
Activate your subscription from the appropriate link below to enjoy trouble free access to the daily content from the NY Times for a year. When the year is up, subscribe again!
- New York Times One-Time Activation from Off Campus
- New York Times One-Time Activation from On Campus
Through the database ABI/Inform, Menlo students, faculty, & staff have access to the full text of two digital versions of the Wall Street Journal:
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition from Jan. 2, 1984 to the present - This is the digital version of the print edition
- Wall Street Journal, Online Edition from Jan. 8, 2010 to the present - This includes all content published online by WSJ
