2. Databases & Resources - PSY 101 Introduction to Psychology - Bingham

Best Resources for this Course

Finding Journal Articles

Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:

Credible and trustworthy information
Recent findings and research topics in the field
Research studies, tables, and data
Bibliographies and reference lists.

Find Journal Articles about your topic by searching in these databases:

PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES searches "over 50 top full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more." The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists. PsycINFO provides access to abstracts only of international literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
coverage: Varies
Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present

Statistics & Online Resources

The following resources each provide a different type of information. Credo Reference is a great background resource that can give you an overview of a topic, help you identify key terms and concepts, and introduce subjects with which you are unfamiliar. Google Scholar is another great place to find scholarly articles on your topic. And, Statista delivers a wide range of statistical information across all topics. It's a great place to find data that can strengthen your argument, or give further dimension to your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great resource for background information on a wide variety of topics across 20 subject areas. Includes over 180 titles & 65,000 images. Articles are cross referenced across topics, titles, & publishers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly literature "across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
coverage: Varies
Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
coverage: Updated continuously

Finding Books and Ebooks

Bowman Library has a large variety of books and ebooks that are chosen for their relevance to the courses offered. You can access ebooks directly from the library website whether your off or on campus. Books and ebooks are good for finding overviews and history of your topic. You don't need to read the whole book to get the information you need for your project; often one chapter of a scholarly book will cover the information you need.