Sorry Wikipedia
Find Information at Bowman
Searching the catalog doesn't find everything we have! Check out the tabs in the box below to search in other sources to locate additional types of information.
Best Resources for this Course
Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Find Journal Articles about your topic:
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Searches content from over 8500 journals and magazines, across a wide range of topics. Coverage: 1975-present - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
"Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, from around the world. Includes the scholarly materials in Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's World, U.S., and English Authors Series." - PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES searches "over 50 top full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more." PsycINFO provides access to abstracts only of international literature in psychology and related disciplines - Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1,400 journals featuring key research across 14 Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas.
Finding Books and Ebooks
Bowman Library has a large variety of books and ebooks that are chosen for their relevance to the courses offered. You can access ebooks directly from the library website whether you're off or on campus. Books and ebooks are useful for finding a history or overview of your topic. You don't need to read the whole book to get important information needed for your project; often one chapter of a scholarly book will cover the information you need.
Find books by clicking on these subject terms or using them in your searches:
Body Image. Identity (Psychology) in literature
Gender identity. Postpartum depression
Human body in literature. Sex role.
More Databases & Websites to explore
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Great background resource. Provides full-text reference books in 20 subject areas from over 180 titles, and 65,000 images that cross-references across subject areas. - Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThis database contains over 3 million theses abstracts, with over half of them in full text. Subject coverage includes business & economics, social sciences, technology, and arts & humanities. Check out the reference list in a thesis to find citations to books and articles on your topic.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly literature "across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles..." If information is not in full-text, request it through interlibrary loan.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of more than 400 journals in business and the liberal arts. JSTOR is notable for the high quality of the journals it includes. The most recent three to five years of each journal are usually excluded from JSTOR, however. - New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowUse your Menlo email & password in the links below to activate your free subscription to the NY Times. The Menlo Community has full-text access from 1851 to present. [There is a limit of 5 articles a day per user for articles from the period 1923-1980.]