Info Lit Survey
Please take this survey to help the Library update & improve instruction.
Find Information at Bowman
The above search box will search for articles in a few of the most popular Ebsco databases.
Best Resources for this Class
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of more than 400 journals in business and the liberal arts, with especially strong coverage of business, finance, economics, history, regional studies, education, and sociology. (Our subscription includes the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, Business I, and Business II collections.) JSTOR is notable for the high quality of the journals it includes. The most recent three to five years of each journal are usually excluded from JSTOR, however.
- Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1,400 journals featuring key research across 14 Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas. Subjects available in Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library include Education, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, etc.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive dictionary that also traces the development of English words from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. Click on "Simple search" in the lower left corner of the database page to be able to search for words in the definitions, quotations, and more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on current events, including summaries and bibliographies. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the Congressional Quarterly tradition.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text reference books in 20 subject areas. It includes over 180 titles and 65,000 images "powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context." coverage: Varies
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. PQDT Global consists of PhD and Masters dissertations and theses - over 3 million theses abstracts, with approximately half in full text. Subject coverage includes business and economics, social sciences, technology, arts, and humanities.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowAllows you to search a single eBook or multiple eBooks at once, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and more. coverage: Updated continuously
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people throughout history and around the world. It combines biographies from 70 Gale Group publications, the complete Marquis Who's Who, Merriam-Webster's collegiate and biographical dictionaries, and full-text articles from over 250 periodicals. The Biography Research Guide will help you get started doing biographical research.
- Journalist's ResourceA resource for the professional press. Based at Harvard’s Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy, Journalist’s Resource examines news topics through a research lens.
- The Poynter Institute and News University ResourcesThe Poynter Institute and News University deeply value education in news literacy. They provide resources for self-studying journalists and educators who seek transparency and truth in the digital age. Some of their courses are listed below. Note that some are free and some have a small fee.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowActivate your subscription from one of the links below. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
- New York Times One-Time Activation from Off Campus This link opens in a new windowFrom off campus, click on this link and search for "Menlo College" and follow the instructions. Use your Menlo e-mail & password to set up your account; your subscription will last through your graduation from Menlo.
- New York Times One-Time Activation from On Campus This link opens in a new windowFrom on campus, click on this link and follow the instructions. Use your Menlo e-mail & password to set up your account; your subscription will last through your graduation from Menlo.