Researching Country Information
The following are websites freely available online
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- globalEDGEThe globalEDGE Insights by Country provides access to general country data for all countries of the world. Search Risk Rating Index to find evaluations of the credit risk of companies in each country based on various economic, financial, and political factors.
- Investment Climate StatementsThe U.S. Department of State produces reports with country specific information regarding business climate for over 170 countries. These reports are prepared by economic officers stationed in embassies throughout the world. Select a year and a country from the drop down links on the right of the landing page.
- U.S. Department of State - Country PagesSome pages have more or less information; always a link to the U.S. Bilateral Relations Factsheet, which gives a brief, historical overview of U.S. economic and political relations with the nation.
- The World Bank - CountriesProfiles of World Bank member countries; include news and blogs, data, photos and information on current World Bank projects and programs.
Search for Articles
Remember to use the following databases to search for specific articles and studies on the countries in which you will launch a product. Remember to use the country name and features or attributes of the product as you search for information that will inform your research.
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
