Sorry Wikipedia
Best Resources for this Course
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on current events, including summaries and bibliographies. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the Congressional Quarterly tradition.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text reference books in 20 subject areas. It includes over 180 titles and 65,000 images "powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context." coverage: Varies
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowActivate your subscription from one of the links below and make sure you use the off campus activation link if you are off campus and the on campus activation link if you are on campus. After creating your account, you can log on to the New York Times site directly using your Menlo e-mail and the password you have set up. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
- ProCon.orgContains information on both sides of popular debate topics.
Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Find Journal Articles about your topic in the databases below:
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text criticisms, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews. "Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the scholarly materials of the Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's World, U.S., and English Authors Series." - Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1,400 journals featuring key research across 14 Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas. Subjects available in Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library include Education, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, etc.
Finding Books and Ebooks
Bowman Library has a large variety of books and ebooks that are chosen for their relevance to the courses offered. You can access ebooks directly from the library website whether your off or on campus. Books and ebooks are good for finding overviews and history of your topic. You don't need to read the whole book to get the information you need for your project; often one chapter of a scholarly book will cover the information you need.
Finding Information about modernism and modern art and culture movements:
Literary Journals (Primary sources)
- Modernist Journals at Modjourn.org
- Open Culture list of Modernist Magazines
Collections of photos and information about modern movements
- Primary Source collection of the Digital Public Library of America
- Primary and Secondary source collections on Modernist subjects at ModNet
- Collection on Modernist Architecture and Art movements
- Collections from Modern Fashion and Art Museum
- Primary source collector on Modernist Topics
Finding current sources with criticism and reviews on Films and Literature
Film Review sites:
Literary Magazines:
- Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
- Pew Research CenterAn important independent organization that "provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world," through opinion polling and social science research.
- ProCon.orgContains information on both sides of popular debate topics.
- TED TalksA great spot to find a wide range of talks. Use the filters, to narrow by topic, duration, speaker, or subject. The "sort by" dropdown allows you to narrow by type of talk. Take a listen!
How to do a Site Search on Google
Site searches are a great way to find credible sources online. You can tell Google to search for results only on one kind of site, or one specific site.
For example, if you only want results from educational sources, you can use this :
site:.edu modernist
Or site:.org modernist for results from Museums, Archives, or History Projects.
You can also choose a specific source, like the New York times newspaper by typing site:NYTimes.com Modernist