Find Information at Bowman
Searching the catalog doesn't find everything! Check out the tabs in the box below to uncover more information.
Best Resources for this Course
Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Find Journal Articles about your topic:
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- EBSCOhost (includes several component databases) This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to an extensive collection of databases, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, Newspaper Source, Alt HealthWatch, Health Source, and APA PsycArticles/PsycInfo. Offers the ability to search any and all of these at the same time. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly literature "across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." Note that many articles contain only the citation and no full text; if full text is not available, you can order articles or books via Interlibrary Loan.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text reference books in 20 subject areas. It includes over 180 titles and 65,000 images "powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context." coverage: Varies
- PrivCo This link opens in a new window
The PrivCo database presents business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 500,000 companies, providing information on finances, M&A and funding activity, ownership structure, and more. PrivCo also has data on more than 18,000 investors.
Click the green "Direct Access" button to access PrivCo without making an account. - Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
Find Information about Companies & the Industries in which they operate:
The following databases provide detailed company reports, industry overviews, market share reports, information about trends within a targeted industry, and articles from business & finance related journals, magazines, & newspapers.
- Start by determining the Industrial sector into which your company or venture will fall.
- Look up a company's main product in the NAICS link below to determine industrial code, or
- Find a company report or a competitor's company report to locate relevant industrial codes
- Remember, the relevant NAICS code or a company's ticker symbol can be used as search terms in these databases
- NAICSThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and chronologies. You can also search industry descriptions and for topics in over 4,000 business, economics and technology journals. - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of financial and business information, including U.S. and international company data, industry reports, global company financials, executive profiles, equity research reports, records from private companies, annual reports, risk ratings and information, and global equity pricing data. Offers the ability to build custom financial reports.
- ValueLine Investment Survey Reports This link opens in a new windowProvides the ability to search by Company Name, Stock Ticker or Industry for the most recent reports, analyst commentaries and rankings on the 1,700 stocks covered by the Value Line Investment Survey.
| Financial Management | Business Source Complete - 2000 - 12 months ago |
| Journal of Applied Corporate Finance | Business Source Complete - 2004 - 12 months ago |
| Journal of Applied Finance & Banking | ABI/Inform 2011 - present |
| Journal of Financial & Quantitative Analysis | Business Source Complete - 1966 - 12 months ago |
| Real Estate Economics | Business Source Complete - 1995 - 12 months ago |
| Review of Corporate Finance Studies | Business Source Complete - 9/2012 - 12 months ago |
| Review of Financial Studies | Business Source Complete - 1988 - 12 months ago |
- Financial Times (via ABI/INFORM) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is read daily by businesses, politicians, and academics around the world. The FT covers a variety of topics, including management, business, the legal industry, politics, climate change, and economics, all from a global perspective.
While we no longer have a direct subscription to ft.com, we have access to content published from 05/31/1996 to present (with a 30 Day delay) through ABI/Inform. - New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowActivate your subscription from one of the links below and make sure you use the off campus activation link if you are off campus and the on campus activation link if you are on campus. After creating your account, you can log on to the New York Times site directly using your Menlo e-mail and the password you have set up. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
- New York Times One-Time Activation from Off Campus This link opens in a new window
To activate your NYT subscription from off campus, click on the link and search for "Menlo College" and follow the instructions to create your NYTimes.com account. After activating your subscription, log on to the New York Times site (https://www.nytimes.com) directly using your Menlo e-mail address and the password you have set up for your NYTimes account. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
- New York Times One-Time Activation from On Campus This link opens in a new windowAfter activating your subscription here, log on to the New York Times site (https://www.nytimes.com) directly using your Menlo e-mail and the password you have set up. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
Through the database ABI/Inform, Menlo students, faculty, & staff have access to the full text of two digital versions of the Wall Street Journal:
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition from Jan. 2, 1984 to the present - This is the digital version of the print edition
- Wall Street Journal, Online Edition from Jan. 8, 2010 to the present - This includes all content published online by WSJ
Information about Sources
The linked powerpoint presents some further details about sources you may use in developing your FIN 220 project.
