Databases and Resources
Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Find Journal Articles about your topic:
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new windowIncluding coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowContains published and unpublished journal articles and reports in the education field, from the U.S. Department of Education.
- Health Source (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowContains 550 scholarly full-text journals with a focus on many medical disciplines, as well as 80 full-text publications on consumer health and 130 health reference books.
- PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES searches "over 50 top full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more." The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists. PsycINFO provides access to abstracts only of international literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains citations and abstracts for more than 28 million articles in medicine.
- Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1,400 journals featuring key research across 14 Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas. Includes important journals in the field of Psychology among other disciplines.
- National Institutes of HealthThe National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Statistics & Online Resources
Are you researching a specific age group or locale? Find out more about the people involved, or the prevalence of a condition by using statistical resources like the ones below.
-
American Psychological Association (APA) Links to Data Resources - Suggested data resources from the APA
-
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) - Downloadable datasets on topics related to child abuse and neglect in the U.S.
-
Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF) - Downloadable datasets sorted by topic area
- Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
- U.S. Census BureauThis resource provides a wealth of demographic information about people, geography, and businesses. Enter a state, city, county, or zip code into the Community Facts box at the top of the page and then take a look at some of the options in the left-hand column to find out about a community's population, age, education, income, and other data.
"Who Cares?"
Ask yourself who cares about the topic you are researching.
Google Search using [site:.org | .edu | .gov]
.org = non-profit organizations
.edu = education sites, sites tied to universities
.gov = government and governmental organizations
For example: If I put in the search [homeless site:.org] I will get results that show organizations that address homeless issues.
Examples:
- United Nations: https://www.un.org
- Clayman Institute for Gender Research: https://gender.stanford.edu/
- National Institutes of Health: https://www.nih.gov/
Think about the topics you are interested in. Are there organizations or institutes that are helping support people dealing with particular conditions or illnesses or that are directly involved in research that can help you? Or, are there sites that keep the public and/or interested researchers up to date with new findings?
Here are some examples of online sites & organizations providing information that may further your own investigations and research:
- BioPsychology NewsLinks - daily news on the latest developments in the field of biopsychology.
- NAMI - National Alliance on Mental Illness - Publications and Reports - in-depth stories on mental illness, research, legislation, surveys, & NAMI events
- National Eating Disorders Association - information and resources for those dealing with eating disorders
- NIMH - National Institute of Mental Health - a sub section of the NIH, this governmental organization aims to transform understanding & treatment of mental illness
- Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior - Research areas - The linked page shows their current areas of research within the Semel Institute, the Department of Psychiatry and Resnick Neuropsychiatric Hospital at UCLA
- Society for Neuroscience - professional organization covering numerous fields dedicated to studying neuroscience
This is by no means of an exhaustive list -- Search for your disorder or topic of interest to see what is available.
Finding Books and Ebooks
Bowman Library has a large variety of books and ebooks that are chosen for their relevance to the courses offered. You can access ebooks directly from the library website whether your off or on campus. Books and ebooks are good for finding overviews and history of your topic. You don't need to read the whole book to get the information you need for your project; often one chapter of a scholarly book will cover the information you need.
Search the Bowman Library Catalog
-
American Psychological Association (APA) Links to Data Resources - Suggested data resources from the APA
-
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections - Datasets focusing on child development
-
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) - Downloadable datasets on topics related to child abuse and neglect in the U.S.
-
Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF) - Downloadable datasets sorted by topic area
