Find Information at Bowman
Searching the catalog doesn't find everything we have! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information.
Best Resources for this Course
Finding Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Articles from newspapers, especially reputable newspapers like the New York Times, are another source for credible content for this course, but these articles are not the same as peer-reviewed or scholarly articles.
Helpful Databases:
- Financial Times (via ABI/INFORM) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is read daily by businesses, politicians, and academics around the world. The FT covers a variety of topics, including management, business, the legal industry, politics, climate change, and economics, all from a global perspective.
While we no longer have a direct subscription to ft.com, we have access to content published from 05/31/1996 to present (with a 30 Day delay) through ABI/Inform. - Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine reader.
Bowman Library has access to select past issues of the following magazines: .net, Film Comment, Fit & Well, Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education Magazine, Popular Science, ReNew, Web Designer, and World Soccer - New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowActivate your subscription from one of the links below and make sure you use the off campus activation link if you are off campus and the on campus activation link if you are on campus. After creating your account, you can log on to the New York Times site directly using your Menlo e-mail and the password you have set up. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
- New York Times One-Time Activation from On Campus This link opens in a new windowAfter activating your subscription here, log on to the New York Times site (https://www.nytimes.com) directly using your Menlo e-mail and the password you have set up. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
- New York Times One-Time Activation from Off Campus This link opens in a new window
To activate your NYT subscription from off campus, click on the link and search for "Menlo College" and follow the instructions to create your NYTimes.com account. After activating your subscription, log on to the New York Times site (https://www.nytimes.com) directly using your Menlo e-mail address and the password you have set up for your NYTimes account. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user.
The following databases will help you find market information, key information about a company and its executives, and more.
- Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and chronologies. You can also search industry descriptions and for topics in over 4,000 business, economics and technology journals. - Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly business database with over 1,300 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Also includes financial data, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of financial and business information, including U.S. and international company data, industry reports, global company financials, executive profiles, equity research reports, records from private companies, annual reports, risk ratings and information, and global equity pricing data. Offers the ability to build custom financial reports.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new window
The PrivCo database presents business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 500,000 companies, providing information on finances, M&A and funding activity, ownership structure, and more. PrivCo also has data on more than 18,000 investors.
Click the green "Direct Access" button to access PrivCo without making an account.
- Guidestar: Use this database to look up info about a nonprofit.
Statistics & Online Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
Organizations in this list provide resources and services to social entrepreneurs. Use this list to find an individual for your Changemaker assignment.
Ashoka Innovators for the Public (Fellows program)
Broad Foundation (Fellows program) – Education
Echoing Green Fellowship
Innov8social Blog (list of Fellowship Programs for Social Innovators)
NewSchools Venture Fund – Education
REDF (Farber Fellows program)
Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship – Global focus
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Social Enterprise Alliance
Social Venture Circle
Stanford Social Innovation Fellowship
The Draper Richards Kaplan Foundation (Fellows program)
The Goldman Environmental Prize (for environmental activists)
The Skoll Foundation (Skoll Awards for Social Entrepreneurship)
