Find Information at Bowman
Searching the catalog doesn't find everything we have! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information.
Best Resources
Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are generally all the same thing. They are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
-
Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Note: Our subscription will be changing from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Elite January 2026
Provides searching of over 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed, across a wide range of topics. coverage: 1975 to present
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
[Note: Canceled 2025, subscription expires 7/31/2025]
Provides full-text reference books in 20 subject areas. It includes over 180 titles and 65,000 images "powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context." coverage: Varies
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly literature "across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." Note that many articles contain only the citation and no full text; if full text is not available, you can order articles or books via Interlibrary Loan.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: JSTOR subscription will expand to the Full Access Model in January 2026
A full-text collection of more than 400 journals in business and the liberal arts, with especially strong coverage of business, finance, economics, history, regional studies, education, and sociology. (Our subscription includes the Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, Business I, and Business II collections.) JSTOR is notable for the high quality of the journals it includes. The most recent three to five years of each journal are usually excluded from JSTOR, however.
-
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new windowOver 1,400 journals featuring key research across 14 Social Sciences and Humanities subject areas. Subjects available in Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library include Education, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, etc.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
An important independent organization that "provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world," through opinion polling and social science research.
-
Financial Times (via ABI/INFORM) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is read daily by businesses, politicians, and academics around the world. The FT covers a variety of topics, including management, business, the legal industry, politics, climate change, and economics, all from a global perspective.
While we no longer have a direct subscription to ft.com, we have access to content published from 05/31/1996 to present (with a 30 Day delay) through ABI/Inform. -
Newspaper Source (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides complete coverage of more than 40 national and international newspapers, along with selective full text from over 370 regional U.S. newspapers. Also includes television and radio transcripts.
-
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Activate your subscription from one of the links below and make sure you use the off campus activation link if you are off campus and the on campus activation link if you are on campus. After creating your account, you can log on to the New York Times site directly using your Menlo e-mail and the password you have set up. iPhone, iPad, and Android apps are available with your login. The Menlo Community has full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present. For the years 1923-1980 there is a limit of 5 articles per day per user. Passes do not include e-reader editions, Times Premier content or New York Times Games, New York Times Cooking or The Athletic.
Library Quotes
