International Students

Abstract: A brief summary of an article, book, or another source. Sometimes you may only find abstracts for journal articles, so contact a librarian to help you find the full-text of the resource.

A-Z list: This refers to our alphabetical list of databases. Like the name suggests, it's organized from A-Z.

Call number: A series of letters and numbers assigned to an item that will help you find the item in the library. Bowman Library uses a classification system called the Library of Congress.

Catalog: Our online catalog where you can search for books, DVDs, ebooks, and ejournals.

Chat: This slide-out window on the library's homepage allows you to ask a librarian questions in real time. Don't be afraid to ask!

Check out: When you borrow an item from the library, this is also called a check out. Learn about how long you can borrow items here.

Course reserves: These are textbooks and other materials used in your classes. While we do not have a copy of every book or ebook used, we have many available. Learn more about course reserves here.

Databases: A database is a collection of materials you can search to find information relevant to your search. It's often important to identify keywords to help you find the best information. Remember to ask a librarian for help if you need it!

Due date: This is the date when the items you borrowed from the library are due. Depending on the item, you may be able to request a renewal.

ILL: Interlibrary Loan. Bowman Library can request materials from other libraries if we do not own the item. Submit an ILL request here.

Journal/ejournal: These are academic publications authored by subject experts. Most are available online and in print. You will need to use journal articles to help you write research papers and can find them within the library's databases.

Keywords: A term or terms used to find information in a database. Keywords are indexed within the database content and used in your search. Sometimes it can be challenging to find the best keywords, so don't give up if you can't find the right material on the first try.

Libguide/Course guide: When we visit your classes, we often create these specific guides with information to help you complete an assignment in that class. We also create subject-specific content, like a guide for the Common Book or Native American History month, as well.

Library desk: This desk is the main desk at the front of the library where you can ask questions or check out materials.

Off campus access: If you are physically on campus, you can access our resources automatically. If you are off campus, you will need to sign in using your Menlo username and password.

Renew: You may extend the time you have with library materials by renewing your items. Some items, like course reserves, are not renewable. 

Research appointment: A short meeting between you and a librarian. Book a 30 minute research appointment with a librarian to help you narrow down your topic, find materials, help you with your citations and more. In many classes, you are required to meet with a librarian.