Finding Journal Articles
Often your professor will ask you to use scholarly articles, academic articles, or peer-reviewed articles. These are written by scholars who are experts in their fields and are usually tied to a college or university. They are great for:
- Credible and trustworthy information
- Recent findings and research topics in the field
- Research studies, tables, and data
- Bibliographies and reference lists.
Find Journal Articles about your topic:
- PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Alt HealthWatch (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Health Source (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains citations and abstracts for more than 28 million articles in medicine.
Finding Books and Ebooks
Bowman Library has a large variety of books and ebooks that are chosen for their relevance to the courses offered. You can access ebooks directly from the library website whether your off or on campus. Books and ebooks are good for finding overviews and history of your topic. You don't need to read the whole book to get the information you need for your project; often one chapter of a scholarly book will cover the information you need.
Search the Bowman Library Catalog
Statistics & Online Resources
Are you researching a specific age group or locale? Find out more about the people by using statistical resources like the ones below.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest statistics portals with data from over 18,000 sources. Provides access to 1 million statistics. Also contains information on industries, countries, digital markets, and other topics, as well as infographics.
- U.S. Census BureauThis resource provides a wealth of demographic information about people, geography, and businesses. Enter a state, city, county, or zip code into the Community Facts box at the top of the page and then take a look at some of the options in the left-hand column to find out about a community's population, age, education, income, and other data.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Cited By...
Google Scholar to find where an article is cited in another paper. This shows a conversation between authors as they build their own research and reference earlier research.
- Search for an article in Google Scholar.
- Click on "cited by" at the bottom of the citation result.
Site:...
Use [site: ] in the Google search box to narrow results to more reliable domains.
Example: using [site:.edu ] will show results from colleges and universities.
Grey Literature
Grey literature is literature produced by government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers. Therefore, grey literature includes theses and dissertations, conference papers and proceedings, research reports, government documents, technical notes and specifications, proposals, data compilations, clinical trials, etc.*
Why is grey literature included in academic databases and what is the value? Although not peer-reviewed these types of literature are often written by academics and experts in the field and contain bibliographies. Looking at these reports may lead you to other, peer-reviewed publications you will be able to use for your assignment.
*From: https://ncu.libguides.com/researchprocess
