PSY 401 Psychology Senior Thesis: Thesis Tips

This new edition of the best-selling Case Study Researchhas been carefully revised, updated, and expanded while retaining virtually all of the features and coverage of the Second Edition. Robert Yin′s comprehensive presentation covers all aspects of the case study method--from problem definition, design, and data collection, to data analysis and composition and reporting. Yin also traces the uses and importance of case studies to a wide range of disciplines, from sociology, psychology and history to management, planning, social work, and education.

PRACTICAL METHODOLOGIES FOR CROSS-CULTURAL RESEARCH Since all research is in a sense comparative, it is sometimes argued that methods and requirements remain the same, no matter what country or nationality is involved. The editors of this volume contend that this philosophy is an oversimplification. Although comparative survey research builds on and benefits from best practices established in monocultural research, cross-cultural research requires methodologies which address the central issues of equivalence of measurement and comparability of findings. The literature dealing with these issues has tended to be piecemeal, scattered across disciplines, and focused on specific questionnaires and the needs of single disciplines. This book provides the first systematic, interdisciplinary and hands-on treatment of the issues of greatest saliency for comparative survey research within and across countries. Breaking new ground in its approach, Cross-Cultural Survey Methods describes how to recognize and deal with the major obstacles at each stage of researching, striving for equivalence and comparability.

Everything you'll ever need to know about research methods, with each chapter centered around a fun example of a particular type of research.

Using a series of over 40 case studies, this valuable text illustrates the processes and pitfalls involved in evaluating psychological research. Invites students to consider whether the conclusion drawn at the end of each case is correct, or whether the results could have an alternative explanation.

The Handbook of Research Methods in Clinical Psychology presents a comprehensive and contemporary treatment of research methodologies used in clinical psychology. Topics discussed include experimental and quasi-experimental designs, statistical analysis, validity, ethics, cultural diversity, and the scientific process of publishing. Written by leading researchers, the chapters focus on specific applications of research into psychopathology, assessment and diagnosis, therapy, and interventions for both child and adult populations.

The Handbook of Research Methods in Developmental Science is a collection of newly written articles that provide an overview of methods and approaches associated with the study of human development. Contains accessible contributions from some of the most renowned developmental scientists in the field. Provides basic information on the strengths and challenges inherent in traditional and complex research design. Discusses successful intervention approaches that have been used to promote intellectual, social, and linguistic development. Includes cutting-edge research that is forging new and exciting directions in developmental research.

The Handbook of Research Methods in Experimental Psychology presents a comprehensive and contemporary treatment of research methodologies used in experimental psychology. The volume is divided into three sections: Part One places experimental psychology in historical context and provides insights into current activities and future trends, Part Two investigates the changing nature of research methodology, experimental design, and analytic procedures, and Part Three features research in selected content areas.

This indispensable sourcebook covers conceptual and practical issues in research design in the field of social and personality psychology. Key experts address specific methods and areas of research, contributing to a comprehensive overview of contemporary practice. This updated and expanded second edition offers current commentary on social and personality psychology, reflecting the rapid development of this dynamic area of research over the past decade. With the help of this up-to-date text, both seasoned and beginning social psychologists will be able to explore the various tools and methods available to them in their research as they craft experiments and imagine new methodological possibilities.

This book provides a user-friendly introduction to the qualitative methods most commonly used in the mental health and psychotherapy arena. Chapters are written by leading researchers and the editors are experienced qualitative researchers, clinical trainers, and mental health practitioners Provides chapter-by-chapter guidance on conducting a qualitative study from across a range of approaches Offers guidance on how to review and appraise existing qualitative literature, how to choose the most appropriate method, and how to consider ethical issues Demonstrates how specific methods have been applied to questions in mental health research Uses examples drawn from recent research, including research with service users, in mental health practice and in psychotherapy

This bestselling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions; key elements of the research process; a review of the literature; an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.

Surveys the statistical techniques commonly used in the behavioral and social sciences, especially psychology and education. To help students gain a better understanding of the specific statistical hypothesis tests that are covered throughout the text, author David Howell emphasize conceptual understanding.

The Wiley Handbook of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology presents a comprehensive exploration of the wide range of methodological approaches utilized in the contemporary field of theoretical and philosophical psychology. The Wiley Handbook of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology presents a comprehensive exploration of the wide range of methodological approaches utilized in the contemporary field of theoretical and philosophical psychology. Gathers together for the first time all the approaches and methods that define scholarly practice in theoretical and philosophical psychology.